best vegan easter candy for easter basket - top

Best Vegan Easter Candy for Easter Basket

Our editors research and review only the best products we trust. We may receive a commission on some (but not all) links associated with our content. As an Amazon Associate, GLAM Vegan earns from qualifying purchases.

Many of our readers might have grown up loving biting into Easter bunny chocolates around spring. We love chocolates outside in the sun soaking in the spring warmth too. So our experts weighed in on which store-bought favorite brands are vegan and come up with a recommended list of plant-based vegan Easter treats. You can add them to your Easter basket, add them to the Easter egg hunt, or enjoy them as normal seasonal snacks during spring!

Is there any accidentally Vegan Easter candy?

We kept hearing there might be accidental vegan Easter chocolates out there. Our experts dived in to research if what we heard were true. Let's look at if some of the popular store-bought Easter candies are actually vegan.

is cadbury creme egg vegan

Related Post: Are gummy bears vegan?

Is Cadbury's Creme Egg Vegan?

Cadbury Creme Eggs has been a popular Easter candy staple for many households. It comes in a hard milk chocolate egg-shaped shell with a soft cream fondant filling that looks like an egg white and yolk. It's made to look like a real egg. Cadbury Creme Egg ingredients are slightly different between UK and USA. Often times chocolates tend to be made with a milk product. But let's look at each ingredient to see if either of them is Vegan.

Cadbury Creme Egg Ingredients (UK) : SugarMILK, glucose syrup, cocoa butter, invert sugar syrup, dried whey (from MILK), cocoa mass, vegetable fats (palm, shea), emulsifier (E442), dried EGG white, flavourings, colour (paprika extract). (source: Cadbury UK)

Cadbury Creme Egg Ingredients (US): Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Milk, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Milk Fat, Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Artificial Flavor), Sugar, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Contains 2% or Less of: Artificial Flavor, Calcium Chloride, Egg Whites, Artificial Color, Yellow 6

As you can see from the ingredients, Cadbury Creme Egg from both the UK and the US contains milk and egg products so they are not Vegan. Cadbury has other varieties of Easter eggs like caramel eggs and chocolate eggs. They also contain milk and/ or egg products so they are also not vegan. But don't worry we have some vegan Easter egg recommendations in the Best Vegan Easter Eggs section!

Related Post: Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Are Oreo Easter eggs vegan?

Oreo Easter eggs have been more of a recent addition to the Easter candy selection. It's an egg-shaped hard milk chocolate shell with Oreo cookies and cream filling. It looks as though Oreos dunked in cream were squeezed into a chocolate egg. There are different Oreo Easter eggs from Oreo's and Cadbury's. We will take a look at both to see if they are vegan.

Cadbury Oreo Easter Eggs

Cadbury Oreo Easter Eggs Ingredients: Milk, Sugar, Palm Oil, Whey Powder (from Milk), Cocoa Butter, Cocoa Mass, Wheat Flour, Skimmed Milk Powder, Milk Fat, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder, Emulsifiers (E442, Soya Lecithins), Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Wheat Starch, Raising Agents (E503, E501, E500), Salt, Acidity Regulator (E524), Flavourings, Milk Chocolate: Milk Solids 14 % minimum, Contains Vegetable Fats in addition to Cocoa Butter

OREO Creme Filled Easter Chocolate Candy Egg

Oreo Creme filled Easter Chocolate Egg Ingredients: Milk , Sugar , Vegetable Fats ( Palm , Shea ) , Cocoa Butter , Skimmed Milk Powder , Wheat Flour , Cocoa Mass , Milk Fat , Emulsifiers ( E442 , Soya Lecithin , E475 , Sunflower Lecithin ) , Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder , Glucose Syrup , Wheat Starch , Flavourings , Acidity Regulators ( Potassium Hydrogen Carbonate , Sodium Hydrogen Carbonate ) Salt , Raising Agent ( Ammonium Hydrogen Carbonate ) .

As you can see in the ingredients list, both Cadbury Oreo Easter Eggs and OREO Creme Filled Easter Chocolate Candy Eggs are not vegan because they contain milk products.

Related Post: Are Sour Punch Straws Vegan?

Best Vegan Easter Eggs

As an alternative to commercial or traditional candy, we came up with some of the best vegan Easter eggs that you can bite into. It's also free of peanuts, tree nuts, gluten, egg, soy, sesame, and milk.

Easter Eggs with Moofreesas 

Moo Free Easter Eggs with Moofreesas is free of dairy, gluten, and soy. They are made with delicious dairy-free mylk chocolate and there is a surprise filling of mylk chocolate-covered rice balls (vegan version of Maltesers). Organic cane sugar, which doesn't use bone char, is used to sweeten this Easter egg.

No Whey Easter Eggs

Vegan No Whey Easter Eggs are filled with colorful M&M-type vegan milk chocolates without artificial coloring or animal products.

Best Vegan Easter Chocolates

Vegancuts Premium Easter Gift Box

If you want to get an Easter gift for someone or looking to get a large vegan selection, check out the Vegancuts Easter Special Chocolate Gift Box. It comes with 16+ chocolate items and you will get a variety of chocolate cookies, dips, chocolate-dipped nuts, chocolate bars, and many more. This will be perfect for chocolate lovers.

Milkless Chocolate Easter Bunny

Jake The Milkless Chocolate Easter Bunny is vegan but also allergen-free! It has no artificial ingredients, flavors or colors. And free of milk, peanut, tree nut, egg, soy, sesame, gluten, and whey. They are also Kosher.

Chocolate No No's

Made with vegan sugar, No Whey Food's Choco No No's are yummy chocolate candy without any artificial ingredients, flavors, or colors. Also free of milk, peanut, tree nut, egg, soy, sesame, gluten, and whey. They are also Kosher.

Best Vegan Easter Candy


YumEarth‘s Organic Sour Beans are made from organic cane sugar. They also have all organic ingredients including organic brown rice syrup and organic tapioca starch. The colors are made from concentrate like carrot, apple, and blueberry.

Vegan Easter Candy to Buy at Target

What are some of the best vegan Easter candies you can go out and get at Target? Our experts looked. For chocolate eggs and bunnies we would still recommend what is listed in Best Vegan Easter Eggs and Best Vegan Easter Chocolates but here is what we thought would be a fun vegan-friendly treat list from Target.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top